Dunfermline – Childhood memories

tues_neil_1

Last week I was in Dunfermline on business. I have not been in Dunfermline for many years. I was born in Dunfermline just across from Dunfermline Athletic football ground on Halbeath Road.

I have fond childhood memories of Dunfermline. As I was walking along Chalmers Street toward the entrance to Pittencrief park I passed two places which have great childhood memories for me. Stephens Bakery and Alari’s Chip Shop. 53 years ago I used to go to Dunfermline to stay with my gran. She was a baker in Stephens Bakery and I remember going to the bake-house and seeing my gran making and baking some amazing savouries and cakes. I can smell the fresh baked pies and cakes as I write this story. I also remember the amazing fish and chop shop next door called Alari’s. My gran would take me in there on a Saturday and we would have fish and chips with bread and butter along with a coke float and a cake.

I stopped and I looked in the bakers and the chip shop and childhood memories came flooding back to me. It was a very happy emotional moment.

Leave a Reply

